The Selection Committee of the IULTCS Research Commission (IUR) to Announce the Recipients of the Young Leather Scientist Grants

Mrs Catherine Ann Maidment to receive IUR Research Grant and Md Shahruk Nur-A-Tomal the award for sustainability and environmental protection

The Selection Committee of the IULTCS Research Commission (IUR) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Young Leather Scientist Grants, the basic grant and the award for sustainability and environmental protection – the first time there has been two awards. The monetary grants help support the work of young talented individuals in the leather sector and the IULTCS gratefully acknowledges sponsorship by the Lear Corporation and TFL.

The winner of the 1500 Euro basic grant is Mrs Catherine Ann Maidment from New Zealand Leather and Shoe Research Association, Palmerston North, New Zealand. Catherine Maidment will address the causes for loose and tight leathers. She will correlate this important structural-mechanical behaviour with the profiles of protein compositions of different processing states in the beamhouse measured by liquid chromatography coupled with mass spectroscopy.

Md Shahruk Nur-A-Tomal, firstly educated at Kulna University of Engineering and Technology, Bangladesh and currently at the University of New South Wales, Australia, is the winner of the 1000 Euro grant for sustainability and environmental protection. He will investigate the use of leather shavings and cuttings as a reducing agent in steel production. The treatment of these by-products of the leather industry is still a challenge and would close the last gap in the material cycles of the leather industry. Sharuk Nur-A-Tomal had previously been the successful winner of the basic grant in 2016 and has now won a YSLG award for the second time this year.

Dr Michael Meyer, the IUR Chair, stated on this fifth year of the Young Leather Scientist Grant: “This year we have received around fifteen innovative research topics. The overall quality of the applications has been at a high level and the decision was not easy”. This indicates the growing importance and interest in this grant. The Selection Committee was supported by Thierry Poncet from CTC, Lyon and Dr Jeffry Guthrie-Strachan, from Trumpler to ensure the necessary independence, confidentiality, and integritety of the selection.

Dr Michael Meyer
IUR Chairman
Dr Jeffry Guthrie-Strachan
Selection Committee
Thierry Poncet
Selection Committee